never ever after

cedar arms cradle memories bound by ragged ribbon

dreams called forth as I sleep, the ache of love forbidden

bitter sweet never meant-to-be’s,  tomorrows forever hidden

the touch of my soldiers lips, linger on mine, unbidden

 

we dance, the two of us, between once was and what will never be

my soldier boy, in army dress, the girl in white is me

red blossoms grace my bridal bouquet, red blooms on army green

he fades to mist and then he’s gone, I’m left alone to grieve

 

brittle parchment, the sad remains of foolish girlish whim

the echo of a maidens prayers, the hope that died with him

nothing left of what once was but letters from Berlin

held inside my dresser drawer, bound by ribbon times worn thin.

One thought on “never ever after

Leave a Reply

