To Ink or not to Ink

A Parody on Shakesphere’s Sonnet:

To Ink, or not to Ink: that is the question:
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of disapproval,
Or to conform to societies belief to avoid troubles,

Or by opposing them, do you end them? To ink: to change;
and perhaps; by inking to say better express
The heart-ache and the thousand natural shocks
That flesh is heir to, ’tis a consummation

Devoutly to be wish’d. To ink, to change;
To change: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;
For in that change of skin what dreams may come
When we have shuffled off this normal skin,
Must give us pause: there’s the respect
That makes calamity of so long life;

For who would bear the whips and scorns of time,
The oppressor’s wrong, the proud man’s contumely,
The pangs of love lost, the law’s delay,
The insolence of family and the spurns
That patient merit of the unworthy takes,
When he himself might his quietus make
With bare body? who would want this,

To grunt and sweat under a weary life,
But that the dread of something different from others,
With unchanged skin that with we bourn
We bare those ills, alone, unexpressed

Rather, make us bear those ills we have
Expressing, with our skin, what others may know not?
Don’t let society make cowards of us all;

But let the native hue of color added
To our sicklied pale cast of skin,
Be enterprises of great moment
With this regard our life we take the helm,
And in the name of knowing they self
Be all my trials and triumphs remembered in ink

5 thoughts on “To Ink or not to Ink

  1. I love this! It is very true as well. Took me a long time for me to get brave enough to ink and have one that is visible most of the time. We that choose to ink should not have to worry about other people and if they approve or not. Very well done.

  2. Well, I just got inked for the first time–and I’m 66 years old! It was my retirement gift to myself. It’s on my inner wrist, nothing fancy, and no color–it was too crazy at the Tattoo Expo–but I am already planning some real art on my arm. My daughter-in-law got inked too (her first). Our husbands said they were not going to let us go out together alone again (but they were just kidding, I think).

    Thank you, tattooed wonder, for your support. I love your blog–you are an excellent expressive writer.

Leave a Reply

